Join the Buzz!

Thursday, August 12, 2010

UTP Close Tennis Tournament 2010

On 6th to 7th March 2010, Sekretariat Rakan Muda Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (SRMUTP) has organized UTP Close Tennis Tournament 2010. The objective of this event is to serve as warm-up tournament for UTP tennis players as a part of their preparation for UTP Open Tennis Tournament 2010.

In this tournament, there are three categories offered, which are men’s singles, women’s singles, and doubles. The officials balls for this tournament is Dunlop Fort Elite. The format of the competition is based on Round Robin. This allows the players to have more competitive practice matches to improve the standard of their games. Knockout stages started for Men’s Singles in the Quarter Final stage, whereas the doubles’ started at semi-final stage. For the women’s singles, the winner is determined through the points collected through the Round Robin matches.

In the men’s singles, the winner is Mohd Zulkarnain Hashim, 2nd Year First Semester student of Mechanical Engineering. In women’s singles, the winner is Tiara Liyana Sulaiman from Chemical Engineering, 2nd Year 2nd Semester. Doubles winner consisted of joint champions of the pair Nazri Abdul Karim and Tiara Sulaiman and Yeo Hann/ Aiman Tsalaha due to the lack of playing time available.

The tournament ended on a successful note at 7PM and has indeed served as a tune up tournament for the players as well as the organizing committee. Any mistakes carried out during this tournament will be rectified before UTP Open 2010 on 19th to 21st March 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment